TYLER COUNTY COMMISSIONERS' COURT SPECIAL MEETING MAY 20, 1993 --- 8:30 A.M.

VOI. 626 PAGE 343

THE STATE OF TEXAS

## COUNTY OF TYLER ON THIS THE 20TH DAY OF MAY, A.D.1993

the Commissioners' Court in and for Tyler County, Texas convened in a Special Meeting at the Commissioners' Courtroom in Woodville, Texas, the following members of the Court present, to wit:

| JEROME OWENS      | COUNTY JUDGE, | Presiding  |
|-------------------|---------------|------------|
| MAXIE L. RILEY    | COMMISSIONER, | PCT.#1     |
| PETE BARNES       | COMMISSIONER, |            |
| JERRY MAHAN       | COMMISSIONER, | PCT.#3     |
| HENRY EARL SAWYER | COMMISSIONER, |            |
| DONECE GREGORY    | COUNTY CLERK, | Ex-Officio |

the following were absent: none thereby constituting a quorum. In addition to the above were:

> JOYCE MOORE JAMES CLARK SANDRA HARRISON

COUNTY AUDITOR CRIMINAL DISTRICT ATTORNEY TAX ASSESSOR-COLLECTOR

A motion was made by Commissioner Riley and seconded by Commissioner Sawyer to approve the minutes of February 12, May 10, and May 4, 1993. All voted yes and none no.

Commissioner Riley made a motion to approve allowance and accounts payable submitted by the County Auditor, upon her receiving proper documentation for invoices presented from Mustang Tractor (R&B #1 & #2), Tyler County Booster (Sheriff) and Freeman's Hardware (R&B #3), Durham's Saw (R&B #2), East Texas Communication (R&B #2 & #3). The motion was seconded by Commissioner Sawyer. All voted yes and none no with exception of Commissioner Barnes abstaining from #22930. SEE ATTACHED GENERAL LEDGER DISTRIBUTION.

David Waxman recounted the grant the County had received for an on-site sewer treatment plant. He reported that all firms had received the budget and narrative as to what the intentions are toward the project. Members of the Court interviewed representatives from each firm submitting a proposal. Some of the discussion included the requiring of a bond vs. using local contractors.

## 

Bar, Bara and Arak Mr. Waxman attested that each firm was well qualified. A motion was made by Commissioner Sawyer and seconded by Commissioner. Barnes to rank the engineering firms as follows: Goodwin & Lassister (Phillip Goodwin) 1.

2. Schaumburg & Polk, Inc. () З. Everett Griffith & Assoc. (Wayne Stolz)

All voted yes and none no. David Waxman will notify these firms of the outcome. SEE ATTACHED PROPOSALS.

A motion was made by Commissioner Riley to accept the bid from Knapp Chevrolet of Houston at the delivered price. The Ford had been the lower bid with exceptions that it would have to be painted and delivery would be additional. Commissioner Sawyer seconded the motion. All voted yes and none no. SEE ATTACHED BID. Sheriff Hennigan will notify the bidders.

Commissioner Riley motioned to accept the high bid for the used police vehicles from Knapp Ford, Woodville. Commissioner Barnes seconded the motion. All voted yes and none no. SEE ATTACHED BID. Sheriff Hennigan will notify the bidders.

\*6. j . .

TYLER COUNTY COMMISSIONERS' COURT May 20, 1993 VOL LEBRATE 344

A motion was made by Commissioner Mahan to authorize advertisement for bids to sell a 1979 Mack dump truck and a 1976 road grader from Precinct #3 to be opened Friday, June 18th. Commissioner Riley seconded the motion. All voted yes and none no. SEE ATTACHED NOTICE TO BIDDERS.

Commissioner Mahan motioned to advertise for bids to purchase a pull trailer for Precinct #3 with one time warrant not to exceed \$15,000. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Riley. All voted yes and none no. SEE ATTACHED NOTICE TO BIDDERS.

Commissioner Barnes motioned to approve the change of polling place #2 from the Masonic Hall to the Faith Luthern Church for the Special Election, only, to be held on June 5th. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Riley. All voted yes and none no. SEE ATTACHED REQUEST FOR PRE-CLEARANCE.

A motion was made by Commissioner Mahan and seconded by Commissioner Sawyer to allow a maximum of 5 clerks for each voting precinct for the Special Election, June 5th. All voted yes and none no.

A motion was made by Commissioner Sawyer to appoint Henry Earl Sawyer, Jr., O.B. Johnson and John English as Fire Commissioners for Rural Fire Prevention District #1. Commissioner Riley Beconded the motion. All voted yes and none no.

A motion was made by **Commissioner Riley** and seconded by Commissioner Mahan to re-appoint the Commissioners now serving, being Paul Holzhauer and Harold Youngblood as Fire Commissioners for Rural Fire Prevention District #2. All voted yes and none no.

Commissioner Barnes motioned to appoint Paul Howe and Earline Bates as Fire Commissioners for Rural Fire Prevention District #3. Commissioner Mahan seconded the motion. All voted yes and none no.

Sandra Harrison, Tax Assessor/Collector presented a resolution requesting the Court to support the consolidation of tax collections into one office of the County Tax Assessor/Collector. A motion was made by Commissioner Riley and seconded by Commissioner Barnes to adopt the resolution supporting HB #2746 encouraging this consolidation. All voted yes and none no. SEE ATTACHED RESOLUTION.

Mrs. Harrison also reported the collections of delinquent taxes. Judge Owens requested that she relate to Mr. John Wofford that the Court would like for him to give a report, within the next two months, on a complete review of delinguent accounts, his projections and the measures he is taking to collect these accounts, and be present to answer any questions the Court may have. Commissioner Mahan suggested the Chief Appraiser also be present.

Judge Owens explained the purpose of HB 2631. A motion was made by Commissioner Riley and seconded by Commissioner Mahan that Judge Owens contact the legislators relaying their support of this House Bill concerning the setting of salaries set by the District Judges.

A motion was made by Commissioner Riley that the meeting adjourn.

COMMISSIONERS' COURT May 20. 1995

THERE BEING NO FURTHER BUSINESS, THE MEETING ADJOURNED...10:20 A.M. SIGNED:

Jerome Owens, County Judge Marie Hily Maxie L. Riley, Comm. Pct. #1 D.M. Barnes, Comm. Pct. #2 lerg Mahan Jerry Mahan, Comm. Pct. #3 Henry Earl Sausjes Henry Earl Sawyer, Comm. Pct. #4 Donece Gregory, County Clerk

ATTEST



Page:3